top of page

Letter to Select Comittee Chair and Ministers on ensuring people are heard through Select Committee process.

Communities Against the Fast-Track wrote to the Chair of the Environment Select Committee, National MP David MacCleod, and the three Ministers with responsibilities under the proposed Bill to ask them to confirm that those who asked to speak at Select Committe would be heard.

Our full letter below.


Tēnā koe,


As you will know, communities around Aotearoa New Zealand are extremely concerned by the proposed Fast-Track Approvals Bill.

We know that thousands of people from around our beautiful country made submissions to the Environment Select Committee on the Bill. We also know that many of those have asked to be heard.

We are writing to you to ask if you will make a commitment to ensuring the Environment Select Committee hears all of those who made submissions and asked to speak to their submission (ie, make an oral submission).

Can you assure members of the public that if they asked to be heard by the Environment Select Committee they will be?

Given the significance of this Bill and its consequences, we would like to confirm that the Select Committee process will not seek to silence people who have asked to speak.


Thank you in advance for your reply.

Ngā mihi nui,

Augusta Macassey-Pickard

Communities Against the Fast-Track coordinator


Communities Against the Fast-Track a coalition of community groups brought together by their opposition to the proposed Fast-Track Approvals Bill. 

Members include: Coromandel Watchdog of Hauraki, Kiwis Against Seabed Mining, Coal Action Network Aotearoa, Climate Justice Taranaki, Environment and Conservation Organisations of NZ (ECO), Taranaki Energy Watch, Aotearoa, Endangered Species Foundation, All Aboard Aotearoa, and individual grassroots community organisers from around the motu.




bottom of page